The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 25, 2014, 05:20 PM   #1
Pond, James Pond

TFL Dept for Education shooter's curriculum.

I recently started what has become a very interesting thread with varied opinions on the merits of point shooting.

There is also a thread on pistol stances that I have found interesting and all this got me thinking.

My situation differs greatly from most members. Where I live there is no strong gun culture. Ranges are limited as are courses. There are no SD courses that I know of.

So, as with every other aspect of shooting, or at least almost, I am having to teach myself.
Where does one begin to be self taught when one doesn't even know how much one doesn't know?!?

So here is your challenge:
I want you to design your ultimate training regimen.
  • It should be conceived with someone in mind who can only get instruction from the likes of TFL, Youtube or other blogs and practise at ranges, and IPSC comps and training venues.
  • It should be manageable, so not consisting of 300 different skills and disciplines.
  • Rather it should be comprised of anything from 5 to 10 or so of what you feel are the most valuable skills and/or drills to practise.
  • You can assume that I have access to places where I can practise moving exercises too, not just a 25m firing line.
  • You can make it into a single practice routine to do each time, or different aspects to be practised on a rotation of sorts.
  • It should be applicable to both revolvers and semis, but any really good exercises that apply to know one are fine here and there.

So what would you offer as a means of making a master from a novice?
Old August 25, 2014, 06:52 PM   #2
raimius

I highly recommend Paul Howe's standards at Combat Shooting and Tactics. They offer a good measure of various basic skills.

As for a program, I would stair-step from the basics.
(Pistol example)
1. Mindset
2. Basic firearms safety.