The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Closed Thread

Old December 11, 2006, 05:17 PM   #1
cgbills

.308 for coyote?

I am wanting to buy a rifle mainly for target shooting at about 200 yards and also wanted to do long distance shoots with it. I think .308 is a good all around round. but here is my question. I have a friend that goes coyote hunting on his land every now and then and i might like to join him every once and a while, but the main use of this rifle would be percision target shooting. So do you think a .308 is ok for coyote? i could use down sized rounds for it. also getting 2 rifles is out of the question since i am a poor college student (poor even though the army is mainly footing the bill)
Old December 11, 2006, 05:29 PM   #2
rem33

A 308 will do in a coyote to 200 yds. just fine as long as your not wanting the hide. Also a 308 is suitable for deer sized game or "long" shots.
If just coyotes to 2 or even 300 yrd. why not a .223? They will work on a animal that sized just fine. Just use a hollow or soft point.
Old December 11, 2006, 06:03 PM   #3
Limeyfellow

A .308 is likely to blow the whole back half of the coyote away when you shoot them or similar bloody mess. Its good if you want the coyote taken care as a pest though if you intend to take the hide for leathercraft and so on, you be much better off with a .223 or 22-250 and still be accurate at the 200 yards you requested and with more and enough power to eliminate the coyote.
Old December 11, 2006, 06:09 PM   #4
Twycross

As long as you aren't trying to save the pelt, a .308 is great. It'll make a mess for sure, but if you've already decided on .308 as your cartridge of choice, I wouldn't think twice about using it on coyotes.
Old December 11, 2006, 06:26 PM   #5
boltgun71