The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 9, 2013, 11:52 AM   #1
loademwell

Wads for shotgun reloading?

Trying to use up some excess components that I have laying around the house and keep running into prob.

12S0 Wads: Can You use these with 1 1/8 oz lead at all? How important is a wad and its size? I know not to use 20 gauge wads in 12 gauge but are they that important? What is bad to do in these?

Hulls: Are these all the same? I understand the dif. in 2 3/4 and 3in. I know that's a change... But does it matter if its a high brass or low?

Primers: Do these really matter? As long as its a 209 they are fine to shoot right?
Old December 9, 2013, 02:13 PM   #2
papershotshells

loadem,

I'm not sure about using the 12S0 wad for 1 1/8oz, but I can answer your other questions (FWIW I've been reloading shotgun shells for over 15 years).

Wads are not wads, each is different and creates different pressures with a given amount of powder and shot. While there are certain wads that can be substituted for a certain wad, these are known as clone wads and are manufactured to be exactly like the name brand wad (an example is that Claybuster makes a "clone" wad of the WAA12 that can be used in recipes that call for the Winchester WAA12 wad, etc). Substituting a wad for a different type of wad can be dangerous.

Hulls are not all the same, even for the same length such as 2 3/4". Each type (Winchester AA, Remington STS, Federal Gold Medal, etc) has a different internal construction and volume. Using data for one hull type in a different hull type will result in different pressures and may be (probably will be) dangerous.