The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old January 13, 2015, 07:52 PM   #1
CLC

Remington 700 sps....now what?

I purchased a Remington 700 sps in .223 and wanted some advice on how to set it up. This rifle will mostly be used for range use but will find its way into vermint hunting. I have a .22 and shotgun that are my primary vermint guns. I don't mind spending money on this rifle but I really don't want to break the bank so I'm looking for the best bang for my buck. I'm liking the leupold mark AR mod 1 but I'm new to scoped bolt action rifles. I'm also thinking about getting a picatinny base to mount the scope and rings on. I'm sure the more in think about it the more questions I'll have. Thanks in advance.
Old January 13, 2015, 08:42 PM   #2
Blindstitch

What type of range do you expect out of the rifle? Is it 100 yards or 300+?

The picatinny rail will keep the scope in place and stop it from migrating under bumps or recoil.
Old January 13, 2015, 08:47 PM   #3
hooligan1

Float barrel, pillarbed stock, and I would use the best rings and bases I could afford, probably not a picatinny. Not that I have anything against picatinny, but theres better bases for bolt action rifles than those dudes.
Then start handloading and have some fun...
Old January 13, 2015, 09:00 PM   #4
precision_shooter

EGW for the base.
Warne, Burris Z, Leupold, all make good rings.
Or go with a Talley or DNZ rings with integral base.
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes...Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man." - Thomas Jefferson, 1776
Old January 13, 2015, 09:31 PM   #5
CLC