The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old June 5, 2016, 09:23 AM   #1
ajanini

Advice: Import one pistol into Brazil. Which one?

Hello friends!
First off, I'm a newbie shooter and this is my first message on these forums.

Unfortunately I live in a place where guns are rare and very strictly controlled by the government. Here in Brazil, where murders are rampant and violence is king, law-abiding citizens have to jump through hoops and pay a high price for guns (literally).

Given the following restrictions:
  1. No 9mm (restricted to armed forces only);
  2. I'm a newbie shooter;
  3. I got one shot at this, because of the cost;
  4. Not for concealed carry (not allowed), home defense and range gun;
  5. If it's the right gun, I don't mind paying for it.

I am getting a .380 1911 clone from one of the two national industries, because it is faster and easier, but I'd like to begin the process of importing what would be my main range/home defense gun. I am told this may take up to 1,5 year to have the gun in my hand.

I would like some advice on which pistol I should get. I am leaning towards .40 S&W and I have been looking at the Beretta 96 and the Sig Sauer P226 (Legion).

Thank you all!
Old June 5, 2016, 09:34 AM   #2
lamarw

Your thinking has merit since hopefully you can also carry a 357 Sig barrel and actually have a single pistol capable of firing two calibers. Also, would you be allowed to have a .22 rim fire caliber exchange kit and have three calibers?

Not sure how available the above changes are for the Beretta, but I know they are available for the Sig P226 and the P229. I just purchased a 357 Sig barrel for my Sig P229. It slips right in and utilized the same magazines and recoil spring/rod.
Old June 5, 2016, 09:40 AM   #3
Nathan