The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old January 9, 2016, 10:02 AM   #1
Micro man

SP 101 holster

I am new to concealed carry and am looking for the right holster to carry my
2 1/4 Ruger sp101. I'm looking at OWB with a holster that would ride high on the hip for easier concealing.
I also want a holster that will hold the revolver securely so maybe something with a thumb break might be needed.
Any recommendations or ideas from the forum members would be appreciated.
Micro man
Old January 9, 2016, 03:23 PM   #2
SSA

I find this to be a very useful type of holster.
Desantis thumbreak scabbard, El Paso Saddlery Tortilla. There are lots of other, similar options.
Old January 11, 2016, 02:38 PM   #3
Frontier4

I have a sp101 357 in 3" barrel configuration. I had a pretty tough time finding a 3" holster you but you will find a lot of options for 2.25. I prefer full kydex holsters of iwb and owb. I was able to track down a Blade Tech kydex for my 3" IWB. I really like it. Leather hosters are fine, but i live in a climate that goes from 100 degrees and high humidity in the summer to 0 degree winters. This will be hard on your leather holster overtime and If your holster does not have a sweat gaurd for either inside or outside wasitband carry salts can damage your finish. With my leather holsters i do treat the outsides with a renovator to condition and water repel. I do not treat the inside. Galco would be fine, Fobus are inexpensive, Don Humme just keep searching. Good luck, keep in mind your owb holster will get dirty inside and out (like any holster) and kydex will be easier to clean and still have strong retention even w/o a thumb break