The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 29, 2010, 12:08 PM   #1
RSMITH77

300 wsm reloading questions

Im new to this reloading stuff and i was wondering if anybody had any idea on what dies i would need for my gun. My gun is a remington 700 model .300 wsm. I have the rcbs rockchucket kit and all the accesories but im needing more information on dies. any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old June 29, 2010, 12:57 PM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

You need to resize the case, add powder and seat the bullet.

There are several methods for adding the powder. The easiest cheap way is a powder funnel and a balance scale. The fastest easiest way is a powder funnel and an automatic scale/dispenser like the RCBS 1500.

Personally, I think the method that gives you the most flexibility is to use a Lee Collet neck sizing die set and a Redding body/shoulder bump die.

The Lee kit comes with the bullet seater.

So, you'd be just resizing the neck most of the time, or resizing the neck and body and then bumping back the shoulder if you discover that produces better accuracy in your gun.

Even if you decide to size just the neck, you'll still need to full resize every few reloads when the case begins to get tight in the chamber, so you need the body die, regardless.
Old June 29, 2010, 01:28 PM   #3
TXJohn

RSMITH77, There are several die sets you can purchase RCBS, Hornady, Lyman, Redding, Lee if it were me I would get the Lee 3 die set that has the Full Length, Neck, and the seating die all at a reasonable price. I bought this set myself because I load the 300 WSM for a friend and they worked well. You can always buy more expensive dies later if you think you need them. Since you are new to reloading I think these dies will work fine. If you go to midwayusa they will have any of these dies that you need. Good luck!!
Old June 29, 2010, 04:32 PM   #4
rogn

WMs