The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Closed Thread

Old June 27, 2010, 09:33 PM   #1
BarbreJ

Use of Lead Bullets

I just checked the Penn website and 1000 .40 bullets seems like a good price. I just dont know anything about lead bulletes other then my book says to buy .401 and I have to watch for leading.

What would be reasons that I would not want to buy lead bulletes?

Obviously I am fairly new to reloading, and I do not have access to my manuals for the next couple fo days. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,
John
Old June 27, 2010, 09:35 PM   #2
DiscoRacing

Nothing wrong with lead bullets.. primarily for target practice.. I use em all the time... saves alot of money for sure.
Old June 27, 2010, 09:58 PM   #3
Farmland

I can't think of a single reason you would not want to use lead bullets for general shooting such as targets. I use them extensively. The truth be known I even use them for hunting since I have a muzzle-loader.

Lead build up can happen but it has never been a problem for me. I just clean the barrel after every use so it has been fine. I currently shoot lead out of several different brands of hand guns and rifles, though I have never shot them in my AR.

I even use them with my Glock though just to easy my mind I use an after market barrel.

Some perceptions you might want to consider is washing your hands after touch lead bullets during reloading.

Just remember lead has been going down barrels for a few hundred years with some pretty good results.

BTW I like and use Penn Bullets.
Old June 27, 2010, 10:18 PM   #4
grubbylabs

I just bought my first 250 and got them loaded up. Testing with them went really well.

Nope, the old nag's still dead .
(Capt Charlie)
Old June 27, 2010, 10:44 PM   #5
Nomadicone