The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 3, 2006, 07:07 PM   #1
jdmick

What's the purpose of nickel plating

I'm still a noob here so please bear with me. What is the purpose of nickel plating brass cartridges? I've got a bunch of .243 stuff that's plated that my manual says shouldn't be run through a non-carbide sizer.
Old November 3, 2006, 07:12 PM   #2
mete

In the old revolver days it reduced the amount of corrosion from carrying it in leather belt loops. Today it's often used to denote premium ammo .Some hand loaders also use it to differentiate loads.
Old November 3, 2006, 07:20 PM   #3
Tom2

Pretty

Well it makes the loads look pretty, and prevents the brass turning brown, or green in worst case. I have heard that they don't last as long as plain brass, I don't know if the plating makes the brass more brittle or what. I have reloaded straight pistol cases without problems and had never heard that it caused any problems. But I have carbide dies for pistol. I have also heard that it is cadmium, not actually nickel plate, anyway. Can't confirm that. Bought a ton of PMC 357 plated cases real cheap, 20 some years ago. They seem to hold up pretty good. I haven't really tested them to their limits as I only load occasionally for my needs and don't do high volume shooting much.
Old November 3, 2006, 07:39 PM   #4
mrawesome22