The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

View Poll Results: What 12 guage ammo should I use against a bear
00 buck shot 7 6.67%
slug 80 76.19%
alternating both 18 17.14%
Voters: 105. You may not vote on this poll

Old April 20, 2009, 11:52 AM   #1
Lambdebois

What ammo for 12 Guage for Colorado black bear protection

I'm curious if most feel 00 buck shot or a slug is better for black bear protection.
I also hear about alternating the rounds with one being the slug then next buck shot the a slug ect....
Old April 20, 2009, 11:55 AM   #2
honkylips

Slugs. I'm not sure what buckshot would do to a decent sized bear (**** him off?). I'm no expert here, but that's my $.02
Old April 20, 2009, 12:02 PM   #3
hornady

I would say slug. I saw a 300 pound Pa black bear get hit with a 300 WSM and go 75 yards.before he dropped
Old April 20, 2009, 12:07 PM   #4
oneounceload

When I used to live on the Western Slope, most folks out walking the dog or hiking carried a 357 or 44 and felt adequately protected. I would imagine that slugs would more than do the job .....with proper shot placement - THAT, IMO, is the key......
Old April 20, 2009, 12:48 PM   #5
fbrown333@suddenlink

Slug all the way. IMO oo buck is for people A bear is a hearty animal and can take a pretty good hit and still do damage. They are one of the few animals that have been known to attack in the direction from which the injury came from, the other being a lion or wild piggy (mmmm pork chops)
Breneke(spelling) makes a good slug and I also have Remingtons,and Winchesters. Just make your shot count, the last thing you want is to have to trail a wounded bear into thick brush. That gives me a pucker factor of about 8.
Old April 20, 2009, 04:22 PM   #6
BigJimP