The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 14, 2001, 11:10 PM   #1
Mike P. Wagner

I have just bought a CZ-52, haven't even fired it yet, and I'm already thinking about reloading. I noticed that Lee makes reloading dies for the 7.62x25 Tokarev round, #90769
3_DIE_SET_7.62_TOKAREV. I can't find anyone else that makes dies specifically for this round, and I've also noticed that Lee will make up a turret press kit for any dies they have, "Note: Kits can be made up for any caliber for which dies are listed in the catalog. Order by caliber and specify TURRET PRESS KIT. Cartridges longer than 2 5/16 requiring manual index."

So it seems, as a beginner reloader that this might be the way to start. What do folks think of this?

Mike P. Wagner
Old March 15, 2001, 07:05 AM   #2
Gewehr98

Hi, Mike!

The Lee dies are just fine for the CZ-52, I've been using mine, with Starline brass, for a couple years. Here's a great place to get started on reloading for your pistol:

http://users.supernet.com/roo67/reloading.htm

Hope this helps!
Old March 16, 2001, 06:43 AM   #3
Brooks

CZ 52

Mike,

I have a Lee turret press and a CZ 52. I haven't reloaded for this pistol though.

I started reloading with a 3 hole Lee turret press and just yesterday bolted my new RCBS Pro 2000 to the bench.

The Lee turret indexes and turns with each pull of the handle. It can get out of adjustment and registry and there is an adjustment you may have to make--read the directions if you buy it. You cannot use the auto turning feature with cases longer than .223 or M1 carbine. You can prime by placing the primer in the cup on the machine (on the upstroke) after sizing or with Lee's hand instrument.

The Turret press kit will get you going. Lee's stuff is the low price spread but it works. Use the Factory Crimp Die from Lee if it is available for that caliber too as it will ensure the ammo will chamber in your pistol.