The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old February 19, 2005, 11:20 PM   #1
tokarevman

Why do i shoot better with one hand

I shoot much better with one hand than with two. I am kinda new to handguns i was more of a shotgun and riffle guy to about a year ago. But i shoot good i think anyway with one hand and i shoot like crap with two. I was kinda wondering if shooting with one hand was a no no becaus i dont se many people doing it. So should i suck up and learn to shoot with two hand or keep on with the one hand?
Old February 20, 2005, 12:34 AM   #2
capbuster

Many people that I have talked to have noticed the same thing.Nothing wrong with shooting one handed. If this works for you by all means keep at it.You might try one handed and two handed shooting at speed against multiple targets. I think you will find that two handed shooting should be added to your shooting bag of tricks.
Old February 20, 2005, 12:38 AM   #3
Blind Tree Frog

Perhaps you are attempting to do more then simply support with your offhand and causing it to push to the side. Are you consistently shooting off in the same area or shooting erratically with two hands?
Old February 20, 2005, 01:09 AM   #4
WaltherP99

I have the same deal too. I can put shots on center at 25 yards with one hand. when it comes to two hands, forget it! I am getting better with two hands tho'
Old February 20, 2005, 01:11 AM   #5
dasmi

What sort of gun are you shooting? I'm fairly accurate with a 38 special revolver one handed, but it goes way down hill when I shoot a 1911.
Old February 20, 2005, 08:41 AM   #6
USNavy_233