The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 5, 2009, 10:02 AM   #1
Dustin0

45 ACP what size bullet do I need.

I am kind of new to hand loading. I have reloaded shot shell for years. I am about to start loading 45 ACP and 7mm-08. On the 45 there is .451 and .452 I was wanting to know witch on was used for 45 ACP so that I dont buy the wrong bullets for likie a 45 Colt. If you have any ideas on what wieght I sould use for target rounds. PS my 45 only likes ball ammo.
Old January 5, 2009, 10:50 AM   #2
kraigwy

Either .451 or .452 will work. Unless you have some weird barrel.

Older 45 LCs were .454, but I think they are pretty much all .452 now. Might be an accuracy differance but to tell you should try some of each. But the same thing thing for all bullets or any other components.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old January 5, 2009, 10:59 AM   #3
Sam06

.451 or .452 is Fine

Dustin, You will be fine with either in the 45ACP. Jacketed bullets "Usually" Measure in at .451 and cast bullets go at .452.

The 45 Colt shoots bullets from .452-.454 depending on the age and make of the gun.

The thing to watch is COL when loading for a Autoloader. Too long and they will not chamber. This is a little more critical in an Auto than a Wheelgun.
Old January 5, 2009, 08:37 PM   #4
cchardwick

I cast my 45 ACP to .452 and then size them to .451 per my loading manual. They shoot great, no problems.
Old January 5, 2009, 09:18 PM   #5
vranasaurus

If your going with jacketed bullets and your gun doesn't like anything but ball, just get some 230 gr FMJ and you should be good.
Old January 5, 2009, 09:25 PM   #6
Shane Tuttle
Staff

Quote:
It is amazing in one post you just got your casting equipment, and now your are giving advice? UFDA!
So? If his answer is the correct one, what's the problem? By the way, why don't you tell all of us what UFDA means while you're at it.