The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Closed Thread

Old March 31, 2013, 05:58 AM   #1
Rifleman1776

125 yard pistol accuracy?

I am currently reading a fiction adventure novel. Now, I am a writer of fiction novels and understand that really anything goes. It is make believe. But, I personally prefer writing that is plausibile.
In the book I am reading, the hero is shot at but only grazed by a rifle bullet from a sniper, laying prone, 125 yards away. He and his wife each pull their model 1911s and fire back, two magazines each. Of aproximately 30 rounds, the sniper is hit 25 times.
I'm glad the bad guy got is due but, to me, this is not plausible and simply ridiculous. Oh, well. The good guy is OK.
Old March 31, 2013, 06:21 AM   #2
2ndsojourn

I get a laugh at those western movies where guys make a 200+ yard shot with their six guns. Usually on the first shot too.
Old March 31, 2013, 08:21 AM   #3
jnichols2

I have read two magazine articles about 100-150yard pistol shots.

Can't vouch for them 'cause I can't do it.
Old March 31, 2013, 08:46 AM   #4
Merad

Remember this story from last fall? 165 yd shot with a .357 Magnum - http://www.thehighroad.org/archive/i.../t-670777.html

I'd argue that it's as much luck as skill at that range, but hey it's possible.
Old March 31, 2013, 08:49 AM   #5
2ndsojourn

What's really remarkable is making those long shots while riding at a full gallop on a horse at another guy on a horse. Wish I was that good.
Old March 31, 2013, 08:58 AM   #6
NoSecondBest