The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 28, 2013, 10:45 PM   #1
DarthVader

I am going to shoot skeet for the first time:

I have a 32" Citori XT Trap, 26" Maxus, and 26" Nova all in 12 gauge. I also have a 26" 1100 in 20 gauge. Which would be the best to bring to the skeet shoot? Also, I figure I should have a IC choke, right? Thanks.

DV
Old November 28, 2013, 11:12 PM   #2
Chad.C

I'm no pro when it comes to skeet shooting but I would bring the nova or the maxus because of the shorter barrel but that's just me also the only things I know about the guns is the barrel length the weight and size will also play a factor it boils down to what works best for you
Old November 28, 2013, 11:21 PM   #3
mxsailor803

I'd take the 1100. Just my preference.
Old November 28, 2013, 11:26 PM   #4
Ruger480

Hey Darth, love your shows. Quick question...how does one come own those particular firearms and never have shot skeet?
Old November 28, 2013, 11:31 PM   #5
ammo.crafter

skeet

Don't shoot skeet but do enjoy sporting clays and use my Remington 1100 in 20ga with one ounce 7 1/2 loads @ 1200f/s.
Old November 28, 2013, 11:53 PM   #6
DarthVader

Quote:
Quick question...how does one come own those particular firearms and never have shot skeet?
Just never did it. I have the XT Trap for trap; the Nova and Maxus for turkey hunting; and the 20 gauge for when my girlfriend (or a new shooter) comes along and wants to shoot trap. I look forward to learning to shoot skeet and probably buying another shot gun!

DV
Old November 29, 2013, 03:23 AM   #7
Arocholl

I am going to shoot skeet for the first time:

If it were me I'd bring the Citori. Personally, I use a Beretta with 30 inch barrels and they are not to long for the skeet range.

But overall, bring whatever gun "feels" the best in your hands.