The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Closed Thread

Old January 13, 2015, 11:53 AM   #1
Andrew Wiggin

NFA Devices for Home Defense (article)

Another article I wrote. The photos are mine as well. I'm just learning Photoshop so I'd be grateful for any criticism you care to offer on both the photos and the writing. The blog is not mine.

Quote:
The problem with opinions is that people who really don’t have any clue what they’re talking about are happy to offer one. They’ll just repeat any old garbage that they’ve heard on a subject, no matter how ridiculous and unfounded. It probably has a lot to do with universal human foibles and a psychologist could go into great detail about what causes people to do that. Ask a truck driver what he thinks about nuclear power, though, and he’ll expound at great length about the virtues of CANDU style generating facilities and the political feasibility of certifying a LFTR generating station, considering the influence that GE lobbyists have on the NRC. The same problem happens when the topic of home defense guns is discussed. Everybody fancies themselves an attorney or a marine-delta-SEAL-reconsniper instructor. Mention the use of a registered NFA device for defense and they start tearing their garments and foaming at the mouth. Why would someone want to use a registered NFA device in home defense anyway, though? Things like silencers and SBRs are just range toys, right?
The rest is here, if you're interested.
Old January 13, 2015, 12:36 PM   #2
Sharkbite

Nicely done.

As one who uses a can on my HD pistol i couldnt agree more.
Old January 14, 2015, 05:04 AM   #3
Beretta686

I own my NFA items mostly for the Zombocalypse.

When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.”
Old January 14, 2015, 03:02 PM   #4
Skans