The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 24, 2005, 01:12 AM   #1
cdc

Very excited, my trap gun search is finally over, a Beretta 391 is the one I chose...

I pick up my new Beretta AL391 Teknys Gold Trap November 2nd!

Because I am new to trap it took forever for me to decide on a gun. Hours upon hours of research, asking questions (here and with competition shooters), shooting a few different type of guns, including different type of actions led me to finally end up with the gun above. I want to thank everyone that so patiently answered all of my questions, it was much appreciated. Many toys (I mean guns ) out there to choose from. All had their pros and cons. Even though I spent much more then I originally wanted to or expected to (typical of everything I buy), the Beretta AL391 Teknys Gold Trap seemed like the best choice for me. Actually I would probably be happy with a trap model AL391, I just decided to go all the way and was able to close wifey on being ok with it.

Can't wait to go out and pattern the new gun and then go out and shoot with friends.

cdc
Old October 24, 2005, 07:26 AM   #2
K80Geoff

So much for a gun in the $400-500 range!
Old October 24, 2005, 07:32 AM   #3
PJR

Excellent choice. It is the best semi-auto shotgun for clay targets IMHO. Did you get the 30 or 32" barrels?

Also, you might want to consider a shell catcher if you are shooting trap. Prevents your shells from hitting the gun to your right.
http://www.tandsshellcatcher.com/
Old October 24, 2005, 02:03 PM   #4
cdc

PJR, I got the 30" barrel, 12 ga. I am planning a few mods to make it my dream shooter, so we will see after I have put some rounds through it.