The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 25, 2009, 02:29 PM   #1
EICRtech

357 Reloaded ammo question

Hello everyone.
Been visiting this site a lot recently and decided to join since everyone seems to really be helpful to each other here. I have really been enjoying lurking at this site for a while and hope to become a productive member here.

I am fairly new to reloading and have been making 223 ammo for my AR.
However, I just recently obtained a new firearm that requires reloading if I wish to shoot it.
I have a concern that may not be anything to worry about but thought I would ask here before assuming anything. Being new to the reloading game, I have a bit of discomfort making changes from the manuals.
I have made 40 rounds with 2 different powders while keeping all other components are the same.

OH- I guess it would be helpful to know that the ammo in question is for 357 Maximum.

Anyway, utilizing the latest Sierra manual, I chose to start with .4 grains over minimum charge for the 180gr FPJ. I have gone astray with 2 variables in the manual. My COL is 1.900" -my trim length was .005" over recommended TTL (while still being .005" under max length), and I am seating/crimping in the middle of the cannalure (sp?). I am comfortable with the COL variation but I am not comfortable with the other variable. The manual called for Fed205M primers. I don't have those so I used Rem7.5 primers instead.
After doing this, I read that the 7.5's are very close to magnum specs- of course I have also read that these are OK since they are BR primers and not magnum primers. Sometimes too much info is a bad thing.
Since I am fairly new to reloading, I wanted to get opinions of this change and whether it should be an issue at close to minumum charge loads.
I would think it should be OK but wanted to ask you pros to give me your opinions.