The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old May 6, 2011, 09:54 AM   #1
spooksailor

FL selling to GA private resident??

What is the requirement for me to trade a few firearms to a GA resident? I am a FL resident.

any help would be great, i just wanna make sure im legal.

thanks in advance.
Old May 6, 2011, 09:58 AM   #2
Bartholomew Roberts

The transfer needs to go through an FFL.
Old May 6, 2011, 10:04 AM   #3
MLeake

More specifically, it needs to go through a Georgia FFL (the FFL must be in the same state as the recipient's residence). That's a federal legal requirement.

What the law doesn't require, but is still sometimes necessary, is to have an FFL in your state send to an FFL in the recipient's state. Again, not a legal requirement, but some FFL's do not like to receive weapons from out-of-state private citizens. I've encountered that issue once or twice.

Thing is, it costs me $40 to have my local FFL ship a gun. It would cost me about the same to drive to the nearest UPS or FEDEX location that would accept a handgun and ship it via UPS or FEDEX (actually, it would cost me more, given the current price of gas, and I'd have to drive in heavy traffic en route to the airport locations). So it's not only cost effective, it's easier on me just to ship via my FFL to the recipient's FFL.

Non-FFL's can't ship handguns via USPS; I believe doing so is a felony, and the only way to do so would be to lie about what you are shipping, as the Post Office won't accept a handgun from a non-FFL.

If you ship it direct to an FFL, I believe you have to use either overnight or 2nd day air vis UPS, FEDEX, or other common carrier.

Edit: Quick way to find FFLs in the recipient's area is to use GunBroker or GunsAmerica; they have functions for identifying FFLs who agree to receive firearms for transfer, sorted by ZIP code.

Better still, is if he already has an FFL he knows and likes to work with.