The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 9, 2014, 02:39 AM   #1
alanshaffer2000

Lead vs. plated / FMJ for Trail Boss powder

I'm planning to use Trail Boss for my low velocity 158gr 357 mag reloads. While researching TB, I noticed that it is designed for lead bullets, and NOT recommended for plated or FMJ bullets. Can someone explain the theory of why a powder would be good for lead but not plated or FMJ. I'm new to reloading, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. Thanks.
Old July 9, 2014, 08:50 AM   #2
buck460XVR

TB is also used for plated and jacketed bullets in reduced recoil loads. Here is the formula from Hodgdons. They assured me thru e-mails that it works with jacketed bullets in handgun cases. My best luck with jacketed is 90-95% of case capacity.

https://www.hodgdon.com/PDF/Trail%20...oads%20R&P.pdf
Old July 9, 2014, 09:04 AM   #3
jtmckinney

I use Trail Boss and 158 grain plated bullets in 357 Mag with good success. Very pleasant to shoot and a great way to introduce a new shooter to a full sized revolver. I make sure they know they are shooting a reduced load and if I step up to a harder hitting load I tell them to get ready for more recoil.
When I am weaker than you, I ask you for freedom because that is according to your principles; When I am stronger than you, I take away your freedoms because that is according to my principles. Frank Herbert "Children of Dune"
Old July 9, 2014, 09:50 AM   #4
Nick_C_S

I'm not sure, but must likely, Trailboss doesn't produce large gas volumes. Since a jacketed or plated bullet has quite a bit more barrel friction, the concern is a stuck bullet at low charge weights. Their lawyers aren't comfortable with customers using plated/jacketed bullets. But I'm sure it can be safely done.
Old July 9, 2014, 09:58 AM   #5
Unclenick
Staff