The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old June 28, 2012, 04:57 PM   #1
Drummer101

Not even allowed to apply...

Went to the police station during lunch (only open from 8-4pm) to get a purchase permit.

They said I could not apply because I was not a Winona resident (chefs rules they said).

Now I have been going to school here for 3 years, had an apartment for 2 years and working during those 2 years in winona. Even brought in my lastest utility bill.

But on my licence it still has my parents address in the Twin Cities.

According to the US Census I am a Winona resident.

They would not do anything.

Going to go in again tomorrow and ask to see the Sheriff or someone else.

I am not going to go back home on a week day till at least Thanks Giving more maybe Christmas.

Push comes to shove I will get someone else to buy it for me and get it off of them. It would not be a straw purchase because I am legally able to buy it in the first place.

Just in a bad mood and very hungry.
Old June 28, 2012, 05:00 PM   #2
aarondhgraham

How about,,,

Simply updating the address on your drivers license.

Technically that's what you should have done years ago anyways.

It would solve your problem properly,,,
Don't you think?

Aarond

Aarond is good,,, Aarond is wise,,, Always trust Aarond! (most of the time)
Old June 28, 2012, 05:03 PM   #3
Drummer101

I am going to school in winona, I dont want my licence to say something that is going to last less than a year.

I am not going to change it every year when I change apartments.

My old licence also just expired last week so I still have the yellow slip.
Old June 28, 2012, 05:03 PM   #4
KenL

Why don't you just get a driver's license with the address where you're currently living and re-apply? Seems like that would be the easiest solution.

Oops, Aarond beat me to it.