The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old March 20, 2010, 08:46 PM   #1
358Apollo

1873 Trapdoor Question

I recently bought an 1873 Springfield trapdoor. The auction said that the bore was pristine (It is) and the rifle is in good working order. It also said that there was no finish on the rifle. When I recieved the rifle, I found this not to be true. It appears that it is nickle plated. I removed the barrel from the stock and the finish looks as good as the the day it was done. There are areas where the finish has come off but this is really no big issue. My question is has anyone seen a trapdoor like this before? I am new to the trapdoor scene and have only seen the blued rifles. This rifle is in great shape and I have a range day next week so I have loaded some BP rounds with 405gr RNHB bullets. Comments?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sptd1195.jpg (109.2 KB, 126 views)
File Type: jpg sptd1196.jpg (169.6 KB, 109 views)
File Type: jpg sptd1197.jpg (177.8 KB, 102 views)
Old March 20, 2010, 08:55 PM   #2
Hawg

Parade rifle maybe.
Old March 20, 2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Slamfire

Hey you have a pristine barrel! What luck!

Don't sweat the nickle plating. This rifle is about 130 years old. Just after WWI NRA members could buy the things for $5.00 from the DCM. I would say that some previous owner really took good care of it and had the thing plated.

It just to be that plating shops were in neighborhood areas, and plating was cheap.

Not any more.
Old March 20, 2010, 09:14 PM   #4
mykeal

Yes, I have seen at least one, several years ago at auction. However, IIRC the rear sight was also plated on that one. I don't recall whether there was any history or provenance provided with the one I saw, so I can't tell you any more than that.
Old March 20, 2010, 09:20 PM   #5
358Apollo

1873 Trapdoor question.

Thanks for the info.
Old March 23, 2010, 01:33 PM   #6
Hedning