The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 21, 2008, 12:27 PM   #1
rwt101

Do you use your own reloads for self defense?

Do you use your own reloads for self defense or do you use factory rounds? Since I am new to reloading I don't have the confidence yet to use my own. Just wondering?
Bob T
Old November 21, 2008, 12:30 PM   #2
44Magnum

Yes, I load a light .44 mag for home defense.

Do not criticize me for my choice. The caliber is what I am used to and what I shoot best. I've had numerous guys over the years tell me I'm nuts. I really don't care. After the IDPA guys see the speed and accuracy with which I can unload a single action revolver, reload, and put more lead downrange, some of them change their mind. If you hone the cylinders you can literally flip the loading gate, point the gun up, and spin the cylinder to unload it. If using reloads for defense in my own home is ever a big issue, we are truly in a sad state.

Sorry for the rant, but I don't want the thread to turn into "44Magnum and the like are morons." I will never apologize for my choice.

Last edited by 44Magnum; November 21, 2008 at 12:44 PM.
Old November 21, 2008, 01:06 PM   #3
vranasaurus

I use factory ammo for self defense. However I would have no problem using my reloads in a pinch. With factory ammo I have 20 rounds of 45 ACP and 30 rounds of 9mm in the house. If I need anything past that reloads will have to do.
Old November 21, 2008, 01:17 PM   #4
That'll Do

I use factory ammo for self-defense.

If I ran out of factor ammo in a gunfight, then my reloaded stuff would have to do. And I'm sure it would work just fine.
Old November 21, 2008, 01:23 PM   #5
Hook686

Yes I use my own reloads for self defense.