The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old July 24, 2011, 04:39 AM   #1
StukaJU87

refinish or refurbish

Hello,
I recently inheireted my father's gun collection and I have questions about their condition. The three I'm concerned the most about are his 1916 Army luger, his 1944 Walther P.38, and his 1915 Colt 45 Single Action Army revolver. I'm new to taking pics of guns and posting them, so I hope it turns out ok.

Below is a pic of the trigger guard to show how the original finish is almost gone from the 1944 Walther P.38.

Next are pics of the right and left sides.

The pics give a polished look and make the pistol appear darker than it really is. This pistol is original and has never been polished or reblued. I feel these pics are a little misleading, but they were the best I was able to take.

Next are pics of the 1916 Army Luger.

That's not a scratch or crack on right side of receiver above the trigger, just a white dog hair that I didn't notice at the time.

The Luger is also original and I feel the pics are more accurate, they do a nice job showing the missing finish. Also, the DWM logo on the top of the receiver is almost worn off. Not sure how.

All three of the pistols are in great shape mechanically and in perfect working order. My question is since they were my fathers and I don't plan on selling them, what is the best way to honor his memory by caring for his pistols? Should I leave them as is, just oil and clean them now and again, have them refinished, or have them refurbished?

Last edited by StukaJU87; July 24, 2011 at 05:18 AM.
Old July 24, 2011, 04:52 AM   #2
StukaJU87

Pics of the 1915 Colt 45 Single Action Army revolver