The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 7, 2008, 03:19 AM   #1
AZAK

Location: the object towards which the action of the sea is directed
Bullet pulling problem

I am relatively new to reloading and am attempting to pull some bullets out of 300 H&H cases. These are completed cartridges/live. They came to me as reloads about 20 years ago, and no knowing how long before that they were loaded. (I personally will never again shoot, and technically have never fired, someone else's reload; with the exception of my father-in-law's who was practically born reloading, has been doing it every week since 1960. I did once attempt to load someone else's reload, closed the bolt, and then went to see a gun smith to get the bolt back open, with the live round stuck in the chamber! So, again technically never fired someone else's reload! And this was a long time ago when I was younger and dumber! But, it only took that one time!!!)

No idea about bullet weight, no idea about powder type or charge, primers look like they were put into pockets with a hand priming tool with the wrong end up (little dome shapes on the actual primers).

My problem is that I tried using a RCBS collet bullet puller, (yes, with the correct collet!) and every time that I attempt to tighten down the collet on only the bullet (as far down to the case as possible) I get to a point that the entire cartridge spins, and this is not tight enough. The entire cartridge stays in the holder, as the bullet slips out of the collet. (It is getting tight enough to make some minor marks on the bullet.)

Any words of wisdom out there? Regardless of the questionable quality of any/all of the materials in these reloads, I do want to be able to pull bullets with my equipment.

Thanks!

Now, go figure...
Old August 7, 2008, 06:28 AM   #2
Yoosta B. Blue

Hey there, Azak!