The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 17, 2005, 03:05 PM   #1
Ribbler

Looking for the Right Reloading Equipment...

As I mentioned in another thread I'm new to reloading. I'm looking to buy reasonably good equipment to get started with. Rn22723 posted a list of items that I'll need. One of these included a press. For someone who is looking to load (initially) .40 S&W pistol rounds would the following following be sufficient as a press? A waste of money? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...127372726&rd=1
Old January 17, 2005, 04:29 PM   #2
rn22723

Do yourself a favor! Buy once and cry once!

RCBS you want the Rock Chucker or Turret
Redding you want the Boss or Turret
Hornady Lock N Load
Lyman Crusher 2
Bonanza Coax

All presses use the same size dies so they are universal. Shellholders are universal, except the Bonanza Coax and all progressive presses.
Old January 17, 2005, 04:38 PM   #3
Ribbler

Thanks again RN. Is Ebay a good place to pick these up or should I look elsewhere?
Old January 19, 2005, 03:14 AM   #4
41special

For reloading auto rounds like 40 S&W, I definately recommend a turret or progressive press. That single stage is going to burn you out.

I also recommend a good powder measure.

Like anything else, grab a good reloading book first, then spend your money wisely once.

Ebay is fine if the stuff is in good condition, try to find a store around you that stocks reloading equipment and get your hands on some of it, so you know what you may want to invest in.

www.midwayusa.com

An old west lawman once said when asked why he carried a .45, "because they don't make a .46"
Old January 19, 2005, 05:38 AM   #5
Leftoverdj