The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old December 30, 2012, 09:04 PM   #1
Pastordee

What scope for Rem .270

I am a total newbie when it comes to scopes and centerfire rifles, but my son gave me a Rem 700 bdl in .270 with a 22 inch barrel nib. And I am interested in medium range target shooting, maybe coyotes too. My question to the forum is what is a good workable optic? My eyesight is not great, I wear bifocals etc.
I probably can't come close to outshooting the gun and I am on a very limited budget.
Any suggestions would be welcome.
Old December 30, 2012, 09:31 PM   #2
Cowboy_mo

Good news for you!

When you go to a scope, the bifocal problem becomes history. You won't need the magnifier to clearly see the crosshairs.

For close to medium range shooting, up to 300 yds at reasonable size targets I would recommend a 3 x 9 x 40 scope. The brand name would be dependent on your budget for this purchase. The scope on my .270 is a Nikon prostaff which runs less than $200. The scope on my 30-06 is a Minox which is in the 200-300 range. The scope on my .243 is a Pentax that ran about 125. All 3 are very clear and have been successful taking deer, coyotes, and punching paper out to 250 yds.

Sit back and get ready for lots of recommendations. Enjoy your entry into the shooting sports
Old December 30, 2012, 09:33 PM   #3
reynolds357

The best deal going right now, but ending tomorrow (DEC 31st) is the Zeis conquest.
Old December 30, 2012, 09:46 PM   #4
Pastordee

Thanks

Thanks Cowboy
I appreciate the info, the Nikon with some good rings will prob be my best shot.
Old December 30, 2012, 10:45 PM   #5
solocam72