The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old November 20, 2007, 01:23 PM   #1
scottz0369

Need help setting up 3 gun course

Howdy-
This my be my first post here-I'm a longtime lurker, though.
I'm currently deployed to Iraq (I'm a Marine Infantryman, Master Sergeant) and I want to take my boys to the "next level" in shooting. I'm a Primary Marksmanship Instructor, and a I also teach the CMP/EMP (Combat Marksmanship Program/Enhanced Marksmanship Program). Last year I made a 350meter range that incorporated long range shooting with cover/barricades, moving steadily in to 7 meters with a transition to pistol at about 30 meters. It was a ton of fun, and I'm proud to say that I designed it, but looking back, I see that is was an amateur attempt.
I've been looking at 3 gun to get more action/practical combat shooting training.
I've been unable to find many examples of courses of fire for these, though. For that, I'm turning to you, the experts on this forum.
For weapons, I have M4/M16's, M9 Pistols (I wish I had my 1911 over here), a Mossberg 590 and a Benelli JSCS Semi Auto 12 Ga. Eventually I'd like to incorporate the grenade launcher (M203), SAW, 240 and 50 cal into it, but I'll start with 3 gun. I'll probably make it multiple shooters (up to 4) once I see how it runs.
Ammo isn't an issue.
Any assistance is appreciated

Semper Fi
Top Z
Somewhere in Iraq
Old November 20, 2007, 01:50 PM   #2
yar

What do you have in the way of targetry to shoot at. This will be a big factor in how the stages are designed. Do you have access to reactive steel targets, or will it be all paper.
Old November 20, 2007, 02:41 PM   #3
scottz0369