The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old July 15, 2009, 10:36 AM   #1
kflach
Registration in progress

Cap Questions

I see people talking about liking specific caps. All the online tips I’ve found say to try them out and see which one works best for me/my gun (.44 Pietta 1858 NMA). I bought a set of 100 Remington 10s and 100 Remington 11s to try out, but I’m completely new to this so…

What am I looking for to determine “which one works best?” I’ve tested and found that both sizes fit my on nipples (sheesh - I never imagined I’d say something like that). Am I looking to see which one fires properly the most often? Do they somehow affect accuracy? Does one make a bigger bang than the other?

Also, after I fire the caps is there a tool to remove them (one of them was tighter on my nipples than the other)?
Old July 15, 2009, 11:04 AM   #2
Noz

You are looking for the one that ignites the powder charge most regularly, does not fall off prior to firing and does not fall into the works after firing. I'll bet the the #10 Remingtons work the best. Seems to be the concensus.
Old July 15, 2009, 12:07 PM   #3
mykeal

There is no such thing as a consensus on 'which caps work best'. It depends entirely on the nipples. You use the one that fits best.

Caps are NOT interchangeable. CCI NO. 10's are NOT the same size as Remington No. 10's. CCI No. 11's are NOT the same size as Remington No. 11's. And RWS No. 1075's are not the same size as any of the other 4.