The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old September 4, 2012, 09:43 AM   #1
CCCLVII

Advise on the gun for the next deer hunt.

I am going to some extended family private land here in Idaho to take a mule deer. The hunt will be during the close range hunt so I can use a Handgun (has to be chambered in a straight wall none rifle caliber, so no 30-06 contenders) or Black powder or archery.

The law allows a shotgun but the land owner does not (I would love to use my 870 slug gun but the land owner has a problem with shotguns... Its a long story I would rather not get in to)

I have a black powder rifle but to be honest I am not that good with it but I could practice. I have a cross bow that is 100% legal during this season and I have several hand guns unfortunately most are 9mms... I do have a 357 colt with a 6 inch barrel that I am considering using.

I still have about a month so I have some time to practice.
Old September 4, 2012, 10:27 AM   #2
Sure Shot Mc Gee

To know the brand and caliber of your B/P rifle would help. Knowing that information alone would give many of us a chance to offer helpful suggestions. Your 6" Colt would be sufficient at close range with a 158 gr. average store bought bullet. But, I suspect there wouldn't be much room for error. As your aim should be >Spot On. Mullies are indeed a BIG animal.
Old September 4, 2012, 10:07 PM   #3
Deja vu

I would try the crossbow... Its just different and would be fun to try.

all 26 of my guns are 45/70 govt, 357 mag, 22 or 12 ga... I believe in keeping it simple. Wish my wife did as well...
Old September 5, 2012, 05:04 PM   #4
farmerboy

BP rifle. You're not very good with it? They're just like any other rifle. Just keep on sights and squeeze trigger. You'll have to find a bullet and play with charge and see what your gun likes. But that will be fun too
Old September 5, 2012, 05:28 PM   #5
shortwave

Quote: