The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 11, 2012, 12:18 PM   #1
cgdl58

Lee Classic Turret Press Powder Measure

Hello,

I've just joined The Firing Line forum and wanted to ask for some advice. I am new to reloading and I plan to purchase the Lee Classic Turret Press and the Lee Safety Prime. My questions are:

1. What type of powder measure works well with the Classic Turret Press? Lee makes a Auto-Disk Powder Measure and a Pro Auto-Disk Powder Measure, and wondered which one is better for the Classic.
2. Do I need anything else to go with the powder measure so I have everything I need to start reloading?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated especially from anyone that owns a Lee Classic Turret Press and any other suggested items to buy to make reloading easier.

Regards,
Greg
Old April 11, 2012, 12:45 PM   #2
Don P

The Auto-disk is for the turret press and the pro auto-disk is for the loadmaster and pro.
You will need the auto-disk riser(part # 90041) for the auto-disk so it does not hit the auot prime.
I am currently using the very same set up
As you are, I once was, As I am, You will be.
Old April 11, 2012, 01:23 PM   #3
praetorian97

I use the Pro Auto-Disk Powder Measure with my Turret. You just need the cheap extender riser.

Works great but like Don said for some reason wasn't intended. It was more expensive so I thought it was better.

Anyone explain the difference?
Old April 11, 2012, 05:24 PM   #4
Lost Sheep

Standard and Pro are completely interchangeable with each other.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don P
The Auto-disk is for the turret press and the pro auto-disk is for the loadmaster and pro.
You will need the auto-disk riser(part # 90041) for the auto-disk so it does not hit the auot prime.
I am currently using the very same set up