The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 21, 2002, 02:45 PM   #1
nashgill

Shotgun Training

Hi,
I am new to shotgunning and am about to purchase my first. I am in the Northern Virginia area, does anyone have any recommendations for training/instruction? I will be focusing on hunting, not self defense.

Thanks.
nashgill
Old August 21, 2002, 03:47 PM   #2
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

A Hunter Safety course, even if not mandatory, gives lots of good input.

Any of the clay games will help you, and a few lessons from a qualified instrustor are priceless.

Also, break out that well worn library card and look under Dewey Decimal System # 799 for books on shooting and hunting.

Also, I can occasionally be found shooting slightly north of the Potomac, try to catch up with me at PGC shooting Center in PG county and I'll run you through a basic course. Time's precious, but I'll try to spare a few hours. PM me and maybe we can set up something.

And get yourself an 870(HG)....
Old August 21, 2002, 08:19 PM   #3
nashgill

Dave,
Thanks for the info, do you (or anyone else) have any books or videos to recommend? I really appreciate your offer, I will probably PM you tomorrow when I firm up my schedule for the weekend. I have never heard of the shooting center there, is that the Prince Georges County Trap and Skeet Center:

http://www.shotguninstructor.com/pg_page.html

I picked up my 870 this evening. Dick's Sporting Goods had a special run of this stock:

What is an 870 (HG)?
Thanks.
nashgill
Old August 21, 2002, 08:38 PM   #4
Mal H
Staff

nashgill - The Bull Run Shooting Center has basic and advanced instruction at the center. You can call 703-830-2344 to schedule a session. A group of TFL'ers are going to schedule a session there soon. Let us know if you're interested in joining us.