The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 15, 2002, 11:48 AM   #1
stephen b

DEWC's vs HBWC's

Greetings fellow reloaders,
I'm very new to this part of my hobby but I'm full of questions, that I hope I can get some answers to.
I have purchased both 148 grain plated DEWC's and HBWC's, to shoot both 38 spec. and .357 mag. I have read that it is unwise to exceed 900 fps with the HBWC's but that going over this limit with the DEWC's is acceptable. My questions is what are the advangtages of the HBWC's over the DEWC's and what are the limitations of the DEWC's. It is difficult getting relaoding infor for shooting these out of a .357 mag. I was told that it is somewhat more accurate shooting .375 mag. rounds out of a .357 mag than 38 spec. out of the 357. That's why I want to load these WC's for my 357.
Thanks for solving at least one of these mysteries for me.

stephen b
Old August 15, 2002, 12:02 PM   #2
stans

Welcome to the Firing Line!!!

Some 357's are more accurate with Magnum length cases, some don't care at all. The hollowbase wadcutters are usually swaged from a soft lead allow. The hollow base is supposed to expand to completely fill the bore of the revolver. Cast DEWC's are usually, but not always, cast of a harder alloy to allow higher velocities. I have never loaded HBWC's, so I cannot say how one compares with the other as far as accuracy is concerned. I have always used Magnum length brass for my 357's. This helps prevent a build up of lube, lead and powder residue that might inhibit the insertion of Magnum length rounds. As far as loads go, I usually take the data for 38 Special and add 0.5 grains, that usually gets me in the ball park.
Old August 15, 2002, 05:07 PM   #3
Jim Watson