The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 30, 2011, 09:01 PM   #1
UncleLoodis

Load Data for Berry's with Bluedot and/or Unique

Greetings.

I am new to reloading. I bought some Berry's .38 125 gr. FN bullets and would like to load some light plinking to medium strength .38 spcl. rounds. I have some BlueDot and Unique powder, CCI primers. I intend on shooting them in my S&W 686. I read on Berry's site (I think it was there) that one can use the same load data as uncoated cast bullets. However, at this point the only reloading manual I have is Lyman's, and I'm not sure which bullet they list (if any) is close enough to the Berry's bullets I intend to use.

Does anyone have some tested load data (using BlueDot or Unique)?

And, if I may, I have another question which relates to the above: Should I purchase a (chonometer?...measures the speed of the bullet) so I can test my FPS, and if so, does anyone have recommendations? I plan to do this a lot, as I love to target shoot, so I'd rather spend the money up front and get a good model.

Thanks in advance for your reply(s), and please have a great 4th of July.

UL
Old July 1, 2011, 07:05 AM   #2
Uncle Buck

Welcome UncleLoodis.

Berry makes a good bullet and once you start shooting them, I betcha gonna be happy with the result. (You'll seen the owner of Berry MFG on here from time to time also.)

I have shot a few of the Berry bullets in my .38, but nothing so light as the 125gr. Looking through my load recipe cards I could not find anything that would help you. Try going to the websites of the powder manufacturer and see what you can scratch up there.

With the .38 Special, I use the rule of thumb that, if it looks close to what I have, I use that data and start low. (You can not use this rule of thumb on 9mm or .40 cal rounds, the cases are too small and you run the risk of over pressure.)