The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old December 30, 2015, 05:38 PM   #1
dakota.potts

Book recommendations

I have a dream (maybe a pipe dream) of designing and producing my own firearms and accessories. I'm a gunsmithing student and CNC machinist now learning parts of the trade. I'm also trying to reach myself CAD by modeling parts around the house and blueprints I find on the internet.

I'm looking for recommendations for good books I can read in my downtime. Not necessarily reference or instructional books as much as something you can sit down and read, if that makes sense.

I don't have much of a book budget right now, so starting with books I have a good chance of finding at my local library is good. Books on firearm design, triggers, basic engineering, manufacturing techniques, machining, automation, metallurgy etc. If you recommend it from a place of experience and I can find it at my library, I'll read it and see what I can learn.

These are separate from the required books for my gunsmithing classes which include the Brownells Gunsmithing Kinks

Thanks
Old December 30, 2015, 07:30 PM   #2
4V50 Gary
Staff

Walther Howe's Professional Gunsmithing. It's still my favorite. I also like Steele and Harrison's book, but that's mostly for older guns.
Old December 30, 2015, 08:13 PM   #3
BobCat45

Go to everyspec.com and search for MIL-HDBK-5J - it is a very large download but it is free (taxpayers paid for it long ago). You mentioned Metallurgy - it has lots of data, you will not sit and read it like a book but you will enrich yourself perusing it.

It is "cancelled" - the new "private enterprise" version is called MMPDS (Metallic Materials Properties Database somthing) but it has not been updated and has languished. MIL-HDBK-5J is the go-to for metallic materials - basics and properties.

What have you got to loose?

Enjoy!
Old December 31, 2015, 12:26 AM   #4
JohnKSa
Staff