The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old September 19, 2000, 10:35 AM   #1
Chang

Hi, I'm pretty new to firearms, but I need a shotgun for general purpose hunting a sporting. I'm thinking about the Remington 870 Express, but not sure what is good. Anyone have advice? Thanks!
Old September 19, 2000, 10:43 AM   #2
DorGunR

Chang,
I see that you are a student and therefore cost could be a factor. If cost is a factor try checking out some used shotguns, my favorite gunstore has a very good selection.
The "best value" may be a good used Winchester model 1200, it's a good solid pump shotgun. Whatever you decide on, HAPPY SHOOTING.

------------------
"Lead, follow or get the HELL out of the way."
Old September 19, 2000, 10:52 AM   #3
NJW

The 870 is an extremely reliable and solid pump SG that has been giving reliable service for many years. I think it is the best SG for the $ and for someone starting out. It has become the standard pump SG and you will find plently of parts and accessories for it if you decide to modify it.

NJW in AZ
Old September 19, 2000, 11:48 AM   #4
CD1

Remington 870 Express. Ive used it for years, put many many thousands of rounds through it, used it to hunt deer, ducks, geese, squirrel, dove, shoot skeet with it, used it in the rain, snow, heat, NEVER had a problem with it. It cost me 210 dollars and I'll be passing it on to my son someday. IMHO best shotgun value out there. Period.
Old September 19, 2000, 05:59 PM   #5
Chang

What about for .22's? I'm thinking of getting a Ruger 10/22 as well. Anything better that would be under 300 dollars?

------------------
Old September 19, 2000, 06:20 PM   #6
Dave R

Well, I may offend some sensibilities here, but I have an older Marlin Model 60 that I like better than my newer 10/22. Reasons:

1) Better trigger pull. That may have changed over the years, so check 'em both out.