The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 4, 2006, 01:40 AM   #1
from the Hip

Load development procedure?

Gentlemen:
I have been reloading for about 8 months and I have realized something daunting.
It is statistically possible for a reloader to load literally 10s of thousands of different recipes in an attempt to find the perfect load for his or her rifle. With all the variables including: Case, bullet, primer, powder, charge weight, bullet seating depth, and a few others * a min of 2 5shot tests. By the time that many rounds have gone down a barrel accuracy is a mute point. So my question is this... is there a commonly logical order of component evaluation? If so what is the proper method. Speaking objectively reloading is clearly more art form than science and yet it is possible that I am over analyzing the options. Might anyone have some insight to share?
Thanks
Old June 4, 2006, 02:07 AM   #2
Bullet94

from the Hip Quote – “It is statistically possible for a reloader to load literally 10s of thousands of different recipes in an attempt to find the perfect load for his or her rifle. With all the variables including: Case, bullet, primer, powder, charge weight, bullet seating depth, and a few others * a min of 2 5shot tests. By the time that many rounds have gone down a barrel accuracy is a mute point.”

I believe most rifles won’t tell the difference (or are good enough) using most components available today. Probably bullet and powder (type and amount) are of the most value to most rifles. With all the reloading manuals today you can usually find a recommended powder for your cartridge. Plus now there are programs (calculators?) to help. But I know what you mean. I’m trying to burn out my barrel working on loads. It’s a lot of fun. By the time I get this figured out I’ll probably need a new barrel.
Old June 4, 2006, 02:20 AM   #3
BILLY D.

hey pardner