The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 2, 2013, 10:27 PM   #1
RHafleyJ

Reloading 9mm 125gr for personal defense

I'm new here but this looks like a great forum/source for good info.

I've been loading for a couple of months and I've only loaded handgun rounds strictly by published recipes. I want to load some hot 9mm for personal defense using 125gr jhp from Zero Bullets. I was hoping I could get some advice on target velocities. I suppose I just need to know what's feasible and reliable in a 9mm. I plan on working up a few to chronograph this weekend.

My details:
125gr JHP from Zero
CCI 500 primers
Power Pistol powder
4" barrel
1.130" oal (anything longer pinches in my pistol)
Old January 2, 2013, 11:42 PM   #2
Jimro

Call your local police department. Find out what they carry. Carry that.

Make your handloads duplicate that as best you can for practice. But carry what your local police carry.

Jimro
Old January 3, 2013, 03:55 AM   #3
dikroundtree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiac View Post
I took my wife to get a gun... There were several I thought she would like... She looked at every gun at Green Top (the biggest gun shop in VA) and picked the Kahr LADY Kahr. To me its almost a mouse gun... but she loves it and is a crack shot with it. Makes me swell with pride... I don't moan when dinner is not on the table when I get home anymore...

[This message has been edited by Kodiac (edited 10-16-98).]
I thought law enforcement uses JHP specifically Federal hydra-shoks

Not sent from an IPhone
Old January 3, 2013, 06:57 PM   #4
Jimro

dikroundtree,