The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 11, 2013, 03:25 PM   #1
pearlhandle

Reloading 38special & 357 magnum

I have been reloading 30/30s for over 35 years with no problems.
I now have a S&W 357 magnum with a 4" barrel. Shoots great!
I want to start reloading for it.
This is what I have: Blue Dot Smokeless Powder, CCI No.500 pistol primers, Winchester 38/357 158gr JHP Notched Bullets and lots of spent brass.
These are my questions:
*What's a good powder load for target shooting with 38 cal shells with these 158 gr bullets?
**What's a good powder load for target shooting with 357 cal shells with these 158 gr bullets?
***I have shells from Federal 158 gr JSP, Winchester 110 gr JHp, & UMC 125 gr JSP. When I reload 30/30s, the brands don't matter, nor the bullet weights that were in them; same here, right? I can just pick a bullet weight and match the powder charge to it as long as they are all 357 shells.
****I also have a bunch of silver 38 Special shells from R-P, Western, and Federal. And shells from Winchester FMJs. Are these silver shells reloadable and what's the difference between them and the brass ones?
That's all for now. That oughta get me started.
Thanks!
Old July 11, 2013, 03:29 PM   #2
madmo44mag

My go to powder for 357 mag is IMR4227
15.2 grains under a 157gn bullet.
Most accurate powder in 357 I have found in all my years reloading.
Old July 11, 2013, 04:43 PM   #3
SL1