The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old December 10, 2004, 10:33 PM   #1
38splfan

Question for Skeet/Clays shooters

I hope I'll find some answers here for something that really disturbs me. I know that most shooters are responsible, outgoing, and pretty freindly. I've been shooting for several years and just recently had an experience that makes me want to sell my guns. I was at the Skeet range this week and was shooting my third round. I'm still in the learning phase for skeet. I found myself not only being looked at funny, but LAUGHED AT for using a pump. Openly ridiculed and joked upon for not using a double!
Now I know that the vast majority of us are professional and courteous, so I have to ask. Is this a skeet attitude as far as the double gun? And is it always so open?
This is not trolling, but a sincere topic from a very confused shooter.
Old December 10, 2004, 10:57 PM   #2
scottys1

I've never shot skeet, but at my trap range nobody cares what you shoot or what your score is as long as you do it safely. This goes the same for the pistol matches I shoot regularly.
It's too bad you ran across such narrow minded idiots. I say shrug it off and go for it! But then I rather enjoy being an underdog. They'll stop laughing long before you top their scores.
My experience has been the same as yours in that most shooters are professional and courteous as well as helpful to new shooters. I have witnessed some prima donna-ish behavior but never anything openly critical toward another competitor.
The best of luck to you and good shooting!
Old December 10, 2004, 11:26 PM   #3
John Ringo

I used to shoot trap down at the Athens Sportman's Club. We used 12-gauge semi-autos for the most part. I never encountered anyone acting stupid on the range with the exception of my ex-girlfriend who showed-up one day to make a ruckus:-)