The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 23, 2013, 01:46 PM   #1
SPUTTER

9mm 160 GR. FMJ

Buddy heard I was starting to reload (I am a NEWBIE) so he gave me about 3000 of this particular FMJ in a box that has been stored at his dads for who knows how long, and all I could read was 9 mm-169 gr. FMJ on the box. I only have my Lyman book but have a Speer and Sierra book on order but can not find this particular 160 gr. FMJ for reloading. Question - how should I reload this particular 9 mm if anyone has a good load that they used. I will use this only for plinking or load a few for my son to carry around. Have no clue or how I found the information to help me I am googling at this time. So HELP.

I aslo was give some Speer 88 gr. HP and some 115 gr. HP from Sierra.
Old January 23, 2013, 03:13 PM   #2
Sevens

I'd like to see pictures of the box/packaging and pictures of the actual slugs.

I have never heard of a true 9mm (.355" or .356") bullet, either jacketed or lead, at 169 grains. I've not heard of a 9mm bullet at anything over 147 grains, or targeted for "about" 147 grains. (lead bullets tend to hit "near" a target weight depending on the alloy make-up of the slug)

Please go in to this knowing these things to be true:
--9mm is a high pressure round. It's not nuclear, but as a handgun/pistol round goes, it's right up at the "normal" limit for modern firearms. A select few handgun rounds inch ever so slightly higher in pressure, but at 35kPSI, 9mm is already running a very modern, high pressure. (compare to .38 Special which runs 17kPSI, .45 Auto which runs 21kPSI, etc)