The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old January 9, 2011, 10:59 AM   #1
will99

scope mount problem Mauser 98

A .220 Swift I inherited is in the shop now getting a 30mm tube scope mounted and bore sighted. It's going on 7 weeks and he finally got a one piece Leupold base on it. First they ordered more drill bits, then a special base, then rings. Said the Mauser 98 receiver was too hard to drill to put a two piece base on. He special ordered the highest rings and still the bolt handle hits the objective bell. The shop owner told me all the above and I have to talk to the actual gunsmith Tuesday. I'm disappointed it's taking so long, that I am getting a one piece mount, that I'm buying more rings when my scope had rings included and that I may be paying to have the bolt handle heated and bent. The worst may be that the scope is going to sit so high. I'm new to varminting. Will this be a problem? Do you want a high scope when you're shooting 400 to 500 yards or more? Years ago I had a scope mounted on my deer rifle and it was a snap. That shop closed and I don't even know these guys. I'm getting that sinking feeling in my stomach. (attached pix show ancient Fecker scope that was removed and sold)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CIMG3041.jpg (251.2 KB, 410 views)
File Type: jpg Fecker 003.jpg (253.0 KB, 323 views)
File Type: jpg Fecker 006.jpg (252.1 KB, 280 views)
Old January 9, 2011, 11:39 AM   #2
PetahW

[ Said the Mauser 98 receiver was too hard to drill to put a two piece base on]

Pure BS, IMHO.

Either that, or someone doesn't know their butt from their elbow.

If heard that from someone I was considering to do work, I'd no longer be considering them.

Jes' sayin'........... (Good Luck !)

Old January 9, 2011, 12:19 PM   #3
RaySendero

Second - What RetahW said!

That GS would not be working on anything I have!
Old January 9, 2011, 01:57 PM   #4
Scorch

Quote: