The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 21, 2001, 05:27 PM   #1
Ken DROVER

Anyone know how to do these? I am going to purchase a Burgess shotgun and need blackpowder loads for it (I'm assuming I do). I have no idea how to do these shells. Ken DROVER Burlington, Ontario Canada
Old February 21, 2001, 05:36 PM   #2
Bud Helms

12 1/2 (twelve and a half?) inches? Is that a typo? 2 1/2 inches?
Old February 22, 2001, 08:05 PM   #3
DAW

Ken, Are you going to use Paper, plastic, of full brass shot shells? It makes a minor difference. I have been loading 12 gauge with black powder now for about 3-4 months. It is a hoot to shoot!

The process for paper or plastic hulls is very simple:
1) Deprime and resize the hull as you normally would. Prime with your favorite 209 primer.
2) Drop in 70 grains of FFg black powder. You want to settle it down, so either use a BP drop tube (24-30 inches long copper tube). This partly compacts the powder. I just tap my shells with a small screw driver to settle the powder because I dont have a drop tube.
3) most people will use Winchester Red AA wads. Or you can use an inch over powder wad, and a 1/2 inch fiber wad. If you use fiber wad, you can add black powder lube to the fiber wad by dunking it in melted SPG lube. You don't need to do this either, but if you don't the BP fouling will be harder in the barrel. Lube keeps the fouling soft. Put a little pressure on the wad to slightly compress the powder. Don't bang on it, just press it with 20 to 40 pound of pressure.
4) drop in any where from 7/8 to 1 1/4 once of shot. I use 1 ounce of 7 1/2 shot.
5) Fold crimp as usual, or add an over shot wad and roll crimp.
Wads can be had from Circle Fly, or Blue grey on the cheap.