The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old September 14, 2005, 08:14 AM   #1
35wailin

Mods for tightening shotgun patterns

Hi guys. I'm a newbie here and haven't had time to go back through all the threads, so I may be repeating a question here, but here goes.

I was at a turkey shoot last weekend. The only two rules that matter are no extra full/turkey chokes and no poly-chokes.

What can I do to my gun to tighten my patterns. I'm shooting an 870 express 12G. I was considering the having the forcing cone lengthened and polished and maybe getting the barrel backbored.

Does anyone have any experience with these mods?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks for your help.
Old September 14, 2005, 08:47 PM   #2
HSMITH

Forcing cone work will help, but handloading will help even more. Hard plated shot and lower velocities can do amazing things for pattern density. AA wads, quality plated shot, very slow powders and loads around 1000 fps can make a modified barrel shoot patterns that look like they came from a turkey choke.
Old September 14, 2005, 09:30 PM   #3
mete

Using hardened shot, plated shot,and buffered shot all tighten patterns and make more uniform patterns. Steel shot also works .But you have to experiment, guns and ammo vary considerebly. ..When I shoot geese I use a modified choke in my Benelli and with 3" steel BB shot I get an Extra, Extra Tight pattern !! I try for head shots with that combination !
Old September 15, 2005, 07:36 PM   #4
35wailin

Unfortunately, they supply the ammo. So any ammo related tricks are out the window. I was considering palming a 3" no. 7 1/2 shot, but I'd probably get caught! LOL!!!
Old September 17, 2005, 12:40 AM   #5
T. O'Heir

Hi. What choke do you have now? If it's not a full choke, pop into your local gun shop and buy a full choke barrel. New or used will do. If your 870 will handle 3" magnums, it'll easily handle a 2.75" with a full choke.