The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old May 15, 2010, 02:55 PM   #1
S_Constitutionist

Buying a handgun in AZ as a NV resident. Options?

Hi there.

I am about to purchase my first handgun and I have lived in Phoenix, AZ for the past 4 years. Because I am an out-of-state student who couldnt qualify for in state tuition, I kept my Nevada ID. I searched but could not find a similar circumstance.

My question is, can I legally purchase a handgun from an FFL in AZ with my NV license and proof that I have lived here for several years?

I will be returning to Nevada in a few months (just graduated!). So, I could either wait and buy in person in NV or buy online from someone like Bud's and have it shipped to an FFL in Nevada, though it seems like the costs of transfer fees, shipping, etc would negate all of the savings. Could my parents pick it up from the FFL in Nevada or would I have to?

Thank you.

Thoughts?
Old May 15, 2010, 05:14 PM   #2
A/C Guy

If you have a passport and vehicle registration or other state issued form showing an Az address, you could buy a firearm.
Old May 15, 2010, 07:27 PM   #3
NavyLT

+1 what A/C Guy said.

Quote:
Could my parents pick it up from the FFL in Nevada or would I have to?
You would have to. The first question on the form 4473 is, "Are you the actual purchaser of the firearm." A "NO" answer to that question disqualifies the buyer. A "YES" answer to that question in this case would be a lie, which is against Federal Law - 18 USC 930.

In regards to your student resident status:
From page 126 of this document:
http://www.atf.gov/publications/down...f-p-5300-4.pdf

Quote:
27 CFR 178.11: MEANING OF
TERMS
An out-of-State college student
may establish residence in a State
by residing and maintaining a
home in a college dormitory or in a
location off-campus during the
school term.

ATF Rul. 80-21

"State of residence" is defined by
regulation in 27 CFR 178.11 as the