The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old September 26, 2011, 03:21 PM   #1
turbodog77

hello have shotgun questions

Hello I found your site online. I have a question about a shotgun. I don't have the shotgun yet. Long story short it is a family piece. I had to buy it from my mom's estate, longer story.
It is a model 12, 16 gauge. It has been sitting in the sunlight looks like it from the pics. Long story there too.
Soon I am getting it and can post some pics.
It has fading in the stock and pump handle on barrel. I have already asked our local gunsmith about reblueing (hot vat) and he said it will decrease the value considerably.
But, what can I do about the wear of blueing over the years?. I think she had it cold blued every 10 yrs or so.
I have no knowledge of guns. I shot her 20 gauge and handgun 2 x in my life.
I just had to have this gun so I can have something to remember her by and she was a very active hunter, this gun was her sweetheart. It is very old and I believe was a gift from her father so it is at least post 1968 as an educated guess. It is a great gun just want to be able to take care of it or make sure no rusting occurs.
I think the fading on the stock is from the gun leaning and sitting in a gun case in the sunlight bc the case had a glass front located near a front door .
any info on where to start would be great. It doesn't have to be reblued sounds expensive for $200 and if it hurts the value I would rather buy some oil and keep her safe.
thank you Linda
Old September 26, 2011, 03:23 PM   #2
turbodog77

p.s I will hunt with it

I am going to take it out hunting. In memory of her
Old September 26, 2011, 04:01 PM   #3
oneounceload

Guns are one of those odd-ball items that seem to go down in value unless restored by someone well-known - leave it as is in that regard. As for redoing the stock to make it look even all over, that shouldn't be hard or expensive