The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old December 12, 2000, 03:21 PM   #1
Bear Flare

Gentlemen:

I am in the market for an M14/M1A type rifle, standard grade

Some have recommended that I build one myself, and I find the thought of building my own rifle from parts intriguing to say the least. Being a Mechanical Engineer with some machine shop background, I think I could pull it off.

HOWEVER, The M14/M1A type rifle is a bit trickier than, say, an AR15. There are some headspacing issues, bolt lapping, and various alignment variables that would make this experience interesting. I have no prior gunsmithing experience and no prior exposure to the M14/M1A type rifle.

Is there an armorer's manual or shop manual explaining an accepted order of assembly, critical fit issues and dimensions, etc.? I'll buy this and study it before making my decision.

Should I warm up on an AR15 first? Should I forget it? I really hate to spend $1200 on cast parts assembled in Brazil. I'd rather spend $1200 on GI parts where applicable and Fulton Armory parts where necessary.

This leads to another question, what are the M14 parts that CANNOT be used legally in a semi-auto only rifle?? I mean this obviously apart from the selector assembly. Will I need a non-GI operating rod? Will the trigger, sear, hammer, or disconnector need to be modified from M14 configuration?

Everybody says "Get Match Super-Duper Grade" for only $200 more. I WILL NOT buy a match grade semi-auto. In my humble opinion, match grade negates the advantages of semi-auto by making the weapon, as a system, much more sensitive to even the slightest damage. If I take this thing in the FIELD, chances are that I need only hunting accuracy and .75-1 MOA will not help me. Also, a rack grade rifle has the accuracy potential far in excess of what I will ever need already. If I need a tack driver, I'll get a good, bedded, HB'd bolt gun. Just my personal philosophy.