The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 18, 2014, 11:17 AM   #1
fretless33

Sorting brass and headstamps...

As some of you know I'm new to reloading. Some of my friends have been giving me once fired brass (mostly 223) and I have been sorting through them because some primer pockets are crimped and some are not. While sorting through the headstamps I've noticed some have numbers after them...for example WCC 66 or 65, LC 96, 94, 91 and so on.

I know the letters are the manufacturer and some have the caliber, but do those numbers represent years?

Thanks again!
Old April 18, 2014, 02:56 PM   #2
mikld

oops!
Old April 18, 2014, 02:57 PM   #3
mikld

http://cartridgecollectors.org/?page=headstampcodes

http://www.marlinowners.com/forum/ca...-glossary.html

Last edited by mikld; April 18, 2014 at 03:02 PM.
Old April 18, 2014, 05:25 PM   #4
fretless33

Thanks man...I used that site today!
Old April 19, 2014, 11:24 AM   #5
elkslayer4x5

Thanks for thoses links, added them to my reloading misc favorites!
Old April 19, 2014, 02:18 PM   #6
Clark

I built this rifle in September 2013 took it to the range, fired a couple sight in shots and shot this 100 yard group with mixed used commercial and military headstamp 223 brass, 7 cent blem bullets, no ladder work, and the bullet jammed into the lands.
I used a $109 wood stock, a $118 Lothar Walther barrel, the original trigger, and a 1972 Sav 110 223 untrued action that looks like it was made by angry monkeys.
What does it all mean? er er what is my point with all the blathering?
The internet is contaminated with vestigial benchrest rituals and nowhere does a novice get a chart of the magnitude of effect of different rituals and how to sum them. er er wat does that mean?
You don't need to see the headstamps. These aren't the variables you're looking for. You can go about your business. Move along.