The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 16, 2000, 02:54 AM   #1
CSOs ROCK

I'm a newbie when it comes to shotguns. I've fired a Mossberg (?) and I think that it would come in VERY handy should a bad guy come through my window.

Anyhow... I was just wondering if any of you knowledgeable people could tell me a reliable model for a good price, you know like Glocks.

I don't want to go to Big 5 or some other chain store and get ripped off 'cause I didn't know what I was looking for.

Thanks.
Old December 16, 2000, 12:26 PM   #2
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

The industry standard is the Remington 870, tho there are plenty of other choices almost as good.

However, the only folks I know or taught that moved past bare minimum competency with a shotgun are those that LIKED to shoot shotguns recreationally and practiced frequently.

And, skip the chain stores and get one, possibly used, from a gunshop where not only your questions can be answered, but where a qualified person can assist you, instead of someone who barely knows which end is which.

If an 870 has ever worn out, I haven't heard about it. But then, I'm only 54 and been shooting 870s only since about 1958.
Old December 16, 2000, 07:52 PM   #3
tyro

I came to this forum as a newbie six months ago. Since then, guided by advice and information received here, I have purchased 3 guns: a new 870 deer gun, a used Ruger KGP 141, and a used 870 Police Magnum. I am 100 percent satisfied with all three, but if I could only keep one of them, it would be the used 870 Police Magnum.
Old December 16, 2000, 10:29 PM   #4
Bam Bam

Be sure to get a new one with interchangable chokes. These have barrels made to handle steel shot. The way things are going steel shot may legislated within the lifetime of your scattergun.
Old December 17, 2000, 02:13 AM   #5
Vern Brink