The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old May 8, 2002, 04:28 PM   #1
bruels

Colt Combat Commander in 356TSW

I have a Combat Commander in 9mm. I am considering having a barrel made for it in 356TSW. Has anyone here had any experience with such a conversion? What problems should I watch out for? What weight recoil spring should I use?

I received one suggestion that I go all the way to 9x23mm. Does that make the conversion more complicated than the 356TSW? Are any other modificatons required other than changing to a stiffer recoil spring?

I would appreciate any information anyone might be privvy to.

Bruce
Old May 9, 2002, 04:28 PM   #2
Jim Watson

Do you have a source of .356 TSW ammo or brass? Made only by Federal, as far as I know. I have not seen any advertised at all recently. It never was common because nobody built any guns for it but S&W and they could not compete with 1911 .38 Supers or even Tanfoglio 9x21s in IPSC. And they did not promote it in carry guns except a few special editions.

You could convert to 9x23, a very powerful round. You might only require a barrel (or rechambering the Colt) and a recoil spring- one about like a heavy duty .45. It will feed from .38 Super magazines. Only Winchester loads factory ammo or makes brass. Starline 9 Super Comp brass will chamber but is not as thick and will require a different set of loads. The old 9mm Largo will work as a light practice load, available in Blazers.

A .38 Super barrel, magazine, and maybe some extractor adjustment would also work.
Old May 9, 2002, 06:10 PM   #3
bruels

Starline makes brass. Either standard or nickel plated.

Do you know of any magazine articles or smithy books that talk about the conversions?

Bruce
Old May 10, 2002, 09:57 AM   #4
Jim Watson

With Starline making the brass, you are all set there.